Our Board

The Commission is governed by a Board, with members appointed by the Minister for Agriculture.

To communicate with anyone on our board please contact our corporate team.


Korotau (Peho) Tamiana Maihana-Tait

(Tuhoe, Te Arawa, Tuwharetoa, Ngāti Kahangungu)

  • Maungapōhatu te maunga
  • Taiturakina te tangata
  • Waikare me Tauranga ngā awa
  • Ko Tamakaumoana te iwi
  • Te Mapau te marae
  • Te Tane-a-nuirangi te whare

Peho TamianaKorotau is the Walking Access Commission’s kaumātua. He has worked decades opening up tracks and trails for New Zealanders. Notably he led the first team of people to create the trails that opened up the Urewera National Park to the public. His knowledge of Māori access routes, and links to the outdoors is comprehensive.


Don Cameron

Don Cameron is Mayor of Ruapehu District and a representative on the national council of Local Government New Zealand. He is a keen mountain biker with a wealth of experience in rural and recreation access issues. He is a member of Ruapehu-Whanganui Rural Support Trust and Rural Health Alliance NZ, is the co-Chair of the Road Controlling Authority and recently helped to set up the Ameku Road cycle and walkway in Raetihi.


Hilary Allison

Hillary AllisonHilary Allison brings a wealth of experience in local economic development and strong governance in Otago and Southland. Currently a Director of Beltex New Zealand, Hilary was previously the National Operations Manager for the Community Employment Group amongst other public sector economic development roles. She is a governance specialist, holding Board offices for Otago Hospice, Dunedin PHO, Otago Community Trust, a MANA Authority Board and a major Dunedin social service delivery agency. Hilary trained as a general nurse and a social worker.

Lisa Chase

Lisa Chase is currently a contract consultant, working with organisations including Massey University and Te Manu Atatu-Whanganui Māori Business Network. She has previously worked for Farmsafe, has a strong lifelong farming background and is part of Agri Women’s Development Trust-Escalator programme. Lisa has a Post Graduate Diploma and a Bachelor with Honours in Computer Graphic Design.

Peter Coburn

Peter CoburnPeter Coburn is from Westport. He is a passionate outdoor recreationalist and was the private secretary for Rural Affairs from 2006 to 2008. In this role he managed and monitored key rural issues including overseeing Walking Access legislation through parliament and developing the ‘Rural Proofing’ policy. He has considerable management experience in the maritime industry and conservation sector and has helped to establish marine reserves in the West Coast region. 

Pierre Henare

Pierre HenarePierre Henare is currently the director for Tairawhiti Pharmaceuticals, a position he has held for more than 27 years. He has also worked for a range of government departments in both advisory and management capacities.

Helen Mexted

Helen MextedHelen Mexted has a background in corporate, NGO and local government leadership roles, predominately in advocacy, marketing and communications with organisations such as Local Government New Zealand, Public Trust, Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, and Federated Farmers. Helen holds a Master of Business Administration and a Bachelor of Business Studies and is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.

Raewyn Tipene

Raewyn TipeneRaewyn Tipene established He Puna Marama Trust in 1997, and has been its Chief Executive Officer since 2006. Prior to this, she was a National Manager at Housing New Zealand, and an advisor with the Community Employment Group. She is completing a Masters in Indigenous Studies, and has a Post Graduate Diploma in Management, and a Bachelor of Science.

Celia Wade-Brown

Celia Wade-Brown QSO lives in the Wairarapa and was the Mayor of Wellington from 2010 to 2016 and previously a city councillor. She founded the walking advocacy group Living Streets Aotearoa and is currently its secretary. She is also a trustee of Walk21, the international charity dedicated to improving walking conditions, and a trustee of Te Araroa Trust. 

Ms Wade-Brown is a keen walker, cyclist and kayaker, and has walked the full length of Te Araroa Trail.

Page last updated: Jun 17, 2020, 9:55 AM