Outdoor achievers sought for Walking Access Awards

People and organisations that have made significant contributions to improving New Zealanders' access to the outdoors may be eligible for an award in this year's Walking Access Awards.

Nominations for the awards, which are run by the New Zealand Walking Access Commission, opened this week.

Commission chief executive Mark Neeson said individuals, groups and central or local government agencies that have enhanced access opportunities in the outdoors or strengthened New Zealand's walking access heritage are all eligible to enter.

“The awards are the Commission's way of recognising what they have achieved and a way to say thank you from all the people who will benefit from their efforts to enhance access to the outdoors.”

Mr Neeson said all significant contributions to walking access were eligible for recognition. Nominees may include people whose dedication sees them maintaining a particular track or walkway, a community group that has worked hard to open up a trail or a territorial authority that has gone “above and beyond” to enhance or maintain access, actively resolve a dispute over public access or undertaken a significant programme to enhance access opportunities.

This is the third year that the Commission has run the Walking Access Awards.

The winners of the 2014 awards were Tasman District Council, for its work improving public access to Tasman's rivers, lakes, mountains and coast; Te Araroa Trust, for its work developing the nationwide Te Araroa Trail; and former high country farming couple John and Rosemary Acland, for their work raising the profile of public access as part of the New Zealand's culture and heritage.

Mr Neeson said the Commission was keen to find deserving recipients of this year's awards.

“If you know someone who is worthy of one of these awards, please consider putting their name forward.”

Nominations close on 4 September 2015. Nomination forms and information about how to make a nomination can be found on the Walking Access Awards page of the Commission's website.

Page last updated: Sep 8, 2020, 3:47 PM